According to Minnesota Statute 169A.63, when a vehicle is used to commit a crime, including driving while intoxicated (DWI) offenses, it can be forfeited. This means that the arresting agency has the authority to seize and forfeit the vehicle in certain DWI cases. If the owner does not recover the vehicle, the agency may sell it and keep the proceeds. If your vehicle has been seized by the police, you should contact a DWI defense attorney in Minneapolis to learn more about your options.
Here are five reasons why you should contact us immediately following a DWI arrest:
- We are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week;
- Both of our partners have experience as former prosecutors;
- We have handled hundreds of jury trials throughout the state;
- Our lead attorney is a board-certified criminal law specialist;
- We will begin your case with a completely free, no-obligation consultation.
DWI Offenses That Can Result in Vehicle Forfeiture
Your vehicle may be seized in Minnesota if you commit any of the following violations:
- You have been charged with your fourth DWI offense in the past decade (which is a felony).
- You have been charged with a third DWI or test refusal in the past decade.
- You are charged with a second DWI offense within ten years and: o A child under the age of 16 was in the vehicle; or o You had a BAC of 0.20 percent or higher.
- You have been charged with DWI or test refusal while your license is in the process of being revoked.
- You are charged with DWI while your license is restricted by a B-Card.
You Have Only 30 Days to Request an Audience
After a Minnesota law enforcement agency has seized your vehicle, you will receive an administrative notice of vehicle forfeiture, also known as a “Notice of Seizure and Intent to Forfeit Vehicle.” You will have only 30 days to file a demand for a judicial determination of the forfeiture, which is a hearing to determine the legality of a vehicle seizure and forfeiture.
You should also be aware that your vehicle can only be kept and sold if you are convicted of the DWI offense for which you were arrested or if your license is revoked pursuant to the state’s implied consent law. If you successfully defend yourself against the DWI charge and license revocation, you can avoid having your vehicle repossessed. It is essential that you retain an experienced DUI defense attorney.
We’re Available 24/7 –Contact Our Minneapolis DWI Lawyers
If your vehicle was seized following a DWI arrest in Minneapolis, you must immediately contact a DWI attorney at Ambrose Law. You have a very brief window of opportunity to contest the forfeiture, so prompt action is vital. Give us a call today to learn more about how we can assist you. If your vehicle has been seized, you must act immediately! Call our company anytime for a free consultation.